Model comparison · Updated 1 Sep 2026

Command R+ (08-2024) vs GPT-4o

Command R+ (08-2024) and GPT-4o cost the same on input, $2.50 per 1M tokens. Both have a 128K-token context window. For a support chatbot at 10,000 chats a day, the standard-tier bill is about $2,025 a month for Command R+ (08-2024) and $2,025 for GPT-4o.

Ask an AI about this pageGChatGPTCClaudePPerplexityGeGeminiXGrok
More
Cite

Cite this page

ModelsAtlas. “Command R+ (08-2024) vs GPT-4o”. Retrieved 1 Sep 2026. https://modelsatlas.com/compare/cohere/command-r-plus-08/vs/openai/gpt-4o

Model A

Command R+ (08-2024)

by Cohere · weights not marked open · GRIDE2

Input / 1M
$2.50
observed We measured
Source
Our catalogue
Retrieved
17 Aug 2026
Output / 1M$10.00
Context128K
vs

Model B

GPT-4o

by OpenAI · weights not marked open · GRIDE2

Input / 1M
$2.50
observed We measured
Source
Our catalogue
Retrieved
17 Aug 2026
Output / 1M$10.00
Context128K

Key numbers

Standard tier · highlighted = better

Command R+ (08-2024)
GPT-4o
Input / 1M tokens
$2.50
$2.50
Output / 1M tokens
$10.00
$10.00
Batch input / output
Not listed
$0.08 / $0.30
Context window
128,000
128,000
Input types
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Weights
Not marked open
Not marked open
Tiers listed
standard
batch, standard
Prices checked
2026-08-17
2026-09-01

What it costs for real workloads

Monthly, standard tier, 30 days

Support chatbot10k chats/day · 1.5k in, 300 out
$2,025/mo
$2,025/mo
RAG over documents2k queries/day · 12k in, 500 out
$2,100/mo
$2,100/mo
Coding agent300 tasks/day · 60k in, 8k out
$2,070/mo
$2,070/mo

Command R+ (08-2024)   GPT-4o · Derived from the standard-tier prices above, input and output tokens per request as stated, 30 days. Excludes caching discounts and batch. Try your own numbers.

On the atlas

Price band (A–H) × context band (1–6)

Same square. Command R+ (08-2024) and GPT-4o share E2.

Same square as Command R+ (08-2024): Nano Banana 2.1 ($1.50), GPT-5.2 Chat ($1.75), Mixtral 8x22B Instruct ($2.00). Open E2

AFreeB<$0.10C$0.10–0.30D$0.30–1E$1–3F$3–10G$10–30H$30+1<32K232–128K3128–256K4256K–1M51M6>1MINPUT PRICE PER 1M TOKENS →CONTEXT WINDOW ↑ · position within a square follows the real valueGPT Audio · E2Mixtral 8x22B Instruct · E2GPT-5.2 Chat · E2Nano Banana 2.1 · E2Command A · E3Command R+ (08-2024)Command R+ (08-2024)GPT-4oGPT-4o
Command R+ (08-2024)GPT-4oNearest neighboursOpen weights
View the map as a table (2 squares)
SquarePrice bandContext bandModels
GRIDE2$1–332–128KCommand R+ (08-2024), GPT-4o, GPT Audio, Mixtral 8x22B Instruct, GPT-5.2 Chat, Nano Banana 2.1
GRIDE3$1–3128–256KCommand A

Capabilities side by side

Only what our records list

Command R+ (08-2024)
GPT-4o
Vision input
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Audio input
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Open weights
Not marked open
Not marked open
Batch tier
Not listed
Supported
Free tier
Not listed
Not listed
Thinking tier
Not listed
Not listed

Neither record lists input types, so we do not claim any.

Which should you choose?

Editorial

Choose Command R+ (08-2024) if…

Nothing in the recorded numbers favours Command R+ (08-2024) over GPT-4o. Pick it for what our records do not cover — your own tests, or an account you already have with Cohere.

Choose GPT-4o if…

  • work can wait: it lists a batch tier and the other does not

Each reason is a fact from the tables above. Picking between them is our judgement, and we do not benchmark quality: price and context are what we can measure, so test both on your own prompts before you commit.

Questions

Is Command R+ (08-2024) better than GPT-4o?
We do not benchmark quality, so we cannot say. On the recorded numbers: Command R+ (08-2024) and GPT-4o cost the same on input, $2.50 per 1M tokens. Both have a 128K-token context window. For a support chatbot at 10,000 chats a day, the standard-tier bill is about $2,025 a month for Command R+ (08-2024) and $2,025 for GPT-4o. Which is better for you depends on your task; test both on your own prompts.
Which is cheaper, Command R+ (08-2024) or GPT-4o?
They cost the same on input, $2.50 per 1M tokens. Output is $10.00 for Command R+ (08-2024) and $10.00 for GPT-4o.
How much does each cost per 1M tokens?
Command R+ (08-2024): $2.50 input and $10.00 output. GPT-4o: $2.50 input and $10.00 output. Standard tier, USD.
Which has the larger context window?
Neither: both have 128,000 tokens.
Do both offer batch pricing?
Command R+ (08-2024) lists no batch tier. GPT-4o lists a batch tier, at 50% of its standard price.
Can both read images or audio?
Input types recorded for Command R+ (08-2024): none recorded. For GPT-4o: none recorded. Where a record lists none we say so rather than guess; check each vendor's documentation before relying on a capability.
Is either model open-weight?
Command R+ (08-2024): not marked open-weight in our records. GPT-4o: not marked open-weight in our records.
What would each cost for a support chatbot?
At 10,000 chats a day, 1,500 input and 300 output tokens each, 30 days, standard tier: about $2,025 a month for Command R+ (08-2024) and $2,025 for GPT-4o. This is our calculation from the listed prices, not a quote.

About the two models

Command R+ (08-2024)

By Cohere. $2.50 input and $10.00 output per 1M tokens, 128K context, atlas square E2. Tiers listed: standard.

Full specs & pricing →

GPT-4o

By OpenAI. $2.50 input and $10.00 output per 1M tokens, 128K context, atlas square E2. Tiers listed: batch, standard.

Full specs & pricing →

Keep going in your AI

Opens with this page as the source. We add nothing else to the prompt.