Model comparison · Updated 17 Aug 2026

Command R+ (08-2024) vs GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct

GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct is about 1.7× cheaper on input ($1.50 against $2.50 per 1M tokens) and on output. Command R+ (08-2024) has the larger context window (128K against 4K tokens). For a support chatbot at 10,000 chats a day, the standard-tier bill is about $2,025 a month for Command R+ (08-2024) and $855 for GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct.

Ask an AI about this pageGChatGPTCClaudePPerplexityGeGeminiXGrok
More
Cite

Cite this page

ModelsAtlas. “Command R+ (08-2024) vs GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct”. Retrieved 17 Aug 2026. https://modelsatlas.com/compare/cohere/command-r-plus-08/vs/openai/gpt-3-5-turbo-instruct

Model A

Command R+ (08-2024)

by Cohere · weights not marked open · GRIDE2

Input / 1M
$2.50
observed We measured
Source
Our catalogue
Retrieved
17 Aug 2026
Output / 1M$10.00
Context128K
vs

Model B

GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct

by OpenAI · weights not marked open · GRIDE1

Input / 1M
$1.50
observed We measured
Source
Our catalogue
Retrieved
17 Aug 2026
Output / 1M$2.00
Context4K

Key numbers

Standard tier · highlighted = better

Command R+ (08-2024)
GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct
Input / 1M tokens
$2.50
$1.50
Output / 1M tokens
$10.00
$2.00
Batch input / output
Not listed
Not listed
Context window
128,000
4,095
Input types
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Weights
Not marked open
Not marked open
Tiers listed
standard
standard
Prices checked
2026-08-17
2026-08-17

What it costs for real workloads

Monthly, standard tier, 30 days

Support chatbot10k chats/day · 1.5k in, 300 out
$2,025/mo
$855/mo
RAG over documents2k queries/day · 12k in, 500 out
$2,100/mo
$1,140/mo
Coding agent300 tasks/day · 60k in, 8k out
$2,070/mo
$954/mo

Command R+ (08-2024)   GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct · Derived from the standard-tier prices above, input and output tokens per request as stated, 30 days. Excludes caching discounts and batch. Try your own numbers.

On the atlas

Price band (A–H) × context band (1–6)

1 square apart. GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct (E1) sits 1 context band smaller than Command R+ (08-2024) (E2).

Same square as Command R+ (08-2024): Nano Banana 2.1 ($1.50), GPT-5.2 Chat ($1.75), Mixtral 8x22B Instruct ($2.00). Open E2 · Open E1

AFreeB<$0.10C$0.10–0.30D$0.30–1E$1–3F$3–10G$10–30H$30+1<32K232–128K3128–256K4256K–1M51M6>1MINPUT PRICE PER 1M TOKENS →CONTEXT WINDOW ↑ · position within a square follows the real valueGPT-4o · E2GPT Audio · E2Mixtral 8x22B Instruct · E2GPT-5.2 Chat · E2Nano Banana 2.1 · E2Command A · E3Command R+ (08-2024)Command R+ (08-2024)GPT-3.5 Turbo InstructGPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct
Command R+ (08-2024)GPT-3.5 Turbo InstructNearest neighboursOpen weights
View the map as a table (3 squares)

Capabilities side by side

Only what our records list

Command R+ (08-2024)
GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct
Vision input
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Audio input
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Open weights
Not marked open
Not marked open
Batch tier
Not listed
Not listed
Free tier
Not listed
Not listed
Thinking tier
Not listed
Not listed

Neither record lists input types, so we do not claim any.

Which should you choose?

Editorial

Choose Command R+ (08-2024) if…

  • your prompts are long: it takes 128,000 tokens against 4,095

Choose GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct if…

  • you pay by the token: it costs $1.50 per 1M input against $2.50
  • output dominates your bill: $2.00 per 1M output against $10.00

Each reason is a fact from the tables above. Picking between them is our judgement, and we do not benchmark quality: price and context are what we can measure, so test both on your own prompts before you commit.

Questions

Is Command R+ (08-2024) better than GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct?
We do not benchmark quality, so we cannot say. On the recorded numbers: GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct is about 1.7× cheaper on input ($1.50 against $2.50 per 1M tokens) and on output. Command R+ (08-2024) has the larger context window (128K against 4K tokens). For a support chatbot at 10,000 chats a day, the standard-tier bill is about $2,025 a month for Command R+ (08-2024) and $855 for GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct. Which is better for you depends on your task; test both on your own prompts.
Which is cheaper, Command R+ (08-2024) or GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct?
GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct: $1.50 against $2.50 per 1M input tokens, and $2.00 against $10.00 per 1M output, on standard pricing.
How much does each cost per 1M tokens?
Command R+ (08-2024): $2.50 input and $10.00 output. GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct: $1.50 input and $2.00 output. Standard tier, USD.
Which has the larger context window?
Command R+ (08-2024), with 128,000 tokens. GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct has 4,095 tokens.
Do both offer batch pricing?
Neither lists a batch tier in our catalogue.
Can both read images or audio?
Input types recorded for Command R+ (08-2024): none recorded. For GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct: none recorded. Where a record lists none we say so rather than guess; check each vendor's documentation before relying on a capability.
Is either model open-weight?
Command R+ (08-2024): not marked open-weight in our records. GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct: not marked open-weight in our records.
What would each cost for a support chatbot?
At 10,000 chats a day, 1,500 input and 300 output tokens each, 30 days, standard tier: about $2,025 a month for Command R+ (08-2024) and $855 for GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct. This is our calculation from the listed prices, not a quote.

About the two models

Command R+ (08-2024)

By Cohere. $2.50 input and $10.00 output per 1M tokens, 128K context, atlas square E2. Tiers listed: standard.

Full specs & pricing →

GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct

By OpenAI. $1.50 input and $2.00 output per 1M tokens, 4K context, atlas square E1. Tiers listed: standard.

Full specs & pricing →

Compare Command R+ (08-2024) with…

Compare GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct with…

Keep going in your AI

Opens with this page as the source. We add nothing else to the prompt.