Model comparison · Updated 1 Sep 2026

MiniMax M1 vs Nemotron 3 Ultra (free)

Nemotron 3 Ultra (free) is about 1.1× cheaper on input ($0.50 against $0.55 per 1M tokens). Both have a 1M-token context window. For a support chatbot at 10,000 chats a day, the standard-tier bill is about $446 a month for MiniMax M1 and $423 for Nemotron 3 Ultra (free).

Ask an AI about this pageGChatGPTCClaudePPerplexityGeGeminiXGrok
More
Cite

Cite this page

ModelsAtlas. “MiniMax M1 vs Nemotron 3 Ultra (free)”. Retrieved 1 Sep 2026. https://modelsatlas.com/compare/minimax/m1/vs/nvidia/nemotron-3-ultra-550b-a55b

Model A

MiniMax M1

by MiniMax · weights not marked open · GRIDD5

Input / 1M
$0.55
observed We measured
Source
Our catalogue
Retrieved
1 Sep 2026
Output / 1M$2.20
Context1M
vs

Model B

Nemotron 3 Ultra (free)

by NVIDIA · weights not marked open · GRIDD5

Input / 1M
$0.50
observed We measured
Source
Our catalogue
Retrieved
1 Sep 2026
Output / 1M$2.20
Context1M

Key numbers

Standard tier · highlighted = better

MiniMax M1
Nemotron 3 Ultra (free)
Input / 1M tokens
$0.55
$0.50
Output / 1M tokens
$2.20
$2.20
Batch input / output
Not listed
Not listed
Context window
1,000,000
1,000,000
Input types
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Weights
Not marked open
Not marked open
Tiers listed
standard
free, standard
Prices checked
2026-09-01
2026-09-01

What it costs for real workloads

Monthly, standard tier, 30 days

Support chatbot10k chats/day · 1.5k in, 300 out
$446/mo
$423/mo
RAG over documents2k queries/day · 12k in, 500 out
$462/mo
$426/mo
Coding agent300 tasks/day · 60k in, 8k out
$455/mo
$428/mo

MiniMax M1   Nemotron 3 Ultra (free) · Derived from the standard-tier prices above, input and output tokens per request as stated, 30 days. Excludes caching discounts and batch. Try your own numbers.

On the atlas

Price band (A–H) × context band (1–6)

Same square. MiniMax M1 and Nemotron 3 Ultra (free) share D5.

Same square as MiniMax M1: DeepSeek V4.1 Flash ($0.30), Gemini 2.5 Flash ($0.30), Gemini 3.5 Flash Lite ($0.30). Open D5

AFreeB<$0.10C$0.10–0.30D$0.30–1E$1–3F$3–10G$10–30H$30+1<32K232–128K3128–256K4256K–1M51M6>1MINPUT PRICE PER 1M TOKENS →CONTEXT WINDOW ↑ · position within a square follows the real valueGemini 3 Flash Preview · D5Mistral Large 4 · D5Qwen3.8 27B · D5Gemini 3.6 Flash · D5Gemini 3.7 Flash · D5MiniMax M1MiniMax M1Nemotron 3 Ultra (free)Nemotron 3 Ultra (free)
MiniMax M1Nemotron 3 Ultra (free)Nearest neighboursOpen weights
View the map as a table (1 squares)

Capabilities side by side

Only what our records list

MiniMax M1
Nemotron 3 Ultra (free)
Vision input
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Audio input
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Open weights
Not marked open
Not marked open
Batch tier
Not listed
Not listed
Free tier
Not listed
Supported
Thinking tier
Not listed
Not listed

Neither record lists input types, so we do not claim any.

Which should you choose?

Editorial

Choose MiniMax M1 if…

Nothing in the recorded numbers favours MiniMax M1 over Nemotron 3 Ultra (free). Pick it for what our records do not cover — your own tests, or an account you already have with MiniMax.

Choose Nemotron 3 Ultra (free) if…

  • you pay by the token: it costs $0.50 per 1M input against $0.55
  • you want to try it free: it lists a free tier

Each reason is a fact from the tables above. Picking between them is our judgement, and we do not benchmark quality: price and context are what we can measure, so test both on your own prompts before you commit.

Questions

Is MiniMax M1 better than Nemotron 3 Ultra (free)?
We do not benchmark quality, so we cannot say. On the recorded numbers: Nemotron 3 Ultra (free) is about 1.1× cheaper on input ($0.50 against $0.55 per 1M tokens). Both have a 1M-token context window. For a support chatbot at 10,000 chats a day, the standard-tier bill is about $446 a month for MiniMax M1 and $423 for Nemotron 3 Ultra (free). Which is better for you depends on your task; test both on your own prompts.
Which is cheaper, MiniMax M1 or Nemotron 3 Ultra (free)?
Nemotron 3 Ultra (free): $0.50 against $0.55 per 1M input tokens, and $2.20 against $2.20 per 1M output, on standard pricing.
How much does each cost per 1M tokens?
MiniMax M1: $0.55 input and $2.20 output. Nemotron 3 Ultra (free): $0.50 input and $2.20 output. Standard tier, USD.
Which has the larger context window?
Neither: both have 1,000,000 tokens.
Do both offer batch pricing?
Neither lists a batch tier in our catalogue.
Can both read images or audio?
Input types recorded for MiniMax M1: none recorded. For Nemotron 3 Ultra (free): none recorded. Where a record lists none we say so rather than guess; check each vendor's documentation before relying on a capability.
Is either model open-weight?
MiniMax M1: not marked open-weight in our records. Nemotron 3 Ultra (free): not marked open-weight in our records.
Is either model free?
MiniMax M1 is not listed at no per-token charge; Nemotron 3 Ultra (free) is. Read the provider's limits before relying on a free offer.
What would each cost for a support chatbot?
At 10,000 chats a day, 1,500 input and 300 output tokens each, 30 days, standard tier: about $446 a month for MiniMax M1 and $423 for Nemotron 3 Ultra (free). This is our calculation from the listed prices, not a quote.

About the two models

MiniMax M1

By MiniMax. $0.55 input and $2.20 output per 1M tokens, 1M context, atlas square D5. Tiers listed: standard.

Full specs & pricing →

Nemotron 3 Ultra (free)

By NVIDIA. $0.50 input and $2.20 output per 1M tokens, 1M context, atlas square D5. Tiers listed: free, standard.

Full specs & pricing →

Keep going in your AI

Opens with this page as the source. We add nothing else to the prompt.