Model comparison · Updated 17 Aug 2026

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct vs gpt-oss-safeguard-20b

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is about 1.5× cheaper on input ($0.05 against $0.08 per 1M tokens) and on output. Both have a 131K-token context window. For a support chatbot at 10,000 chats a day, the standard-tier bill is about $29.70 a month for Llama 3.1 8B Instruct and $60.75 for gpt-oss-safeguard-20b.

Ask an AI about this pageGChatGPTCClaudePPerplexityGeGeminiXGrok
More
Cite

Cite this page

ModelsAtlas. “Llama 3.1 8B Instruct vs gpt-oss-safeguard-20b”. Retrieved 17 Aug 2026. https://modelsatlas.com/compare/meta/llama-3-1-8b-instruct/vs/openai/gpt-oss-safeguard-20b

Model A

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct

by Meta · weights not marked open · GRIDB3

Input / 1M
$0.05
observed We measured
Source
Our catalogue
Retrieved
17 Aug 2026
Output / 1M$0.08
Context131K
vs

Model B

gpt-oss-safeguard-20b

by OpenAI · weights not marked open · GRIDB3

Input / 1M
$0.08
observed We measured
Source
Our catalogue
Retrieved
17 Aug 2026
Output / 1M$0.30
Context131K

Key numbers

Standard tier · highlighted = better

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct
gpt-oss-safeguard-20b
Input / 1M tokens
$0.05
$0.08
Output / 1M tokens
$0.08
$0.30
Batch input / output
Not listed
Not listed
Context window
131,072
131,072
Input types
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Weights
Not marked open
Not marked open
Tiers listed
standard
standard
Prices checked
2026-08-17
2026-08-17

What it costs for real workloads

Monthly, standard tier, 30 days

Support chatbot10k chats/day · 1.5k in, 300 out
$29.70/mo
$60.75/mo
RAG over documents2k queries/day · 12k in, 500 out
$38.40/mo
$63.00/mo
Coding agent300 tasks/day · 60k in, 8k out
$32.76/mo
$62.10/mo

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct   gpt-oss-safeguard-20b · Derived from the standard-tier prices above, input and output tokens per request as stated, 30 days. Excludes caching discounts and batch. Try your own numbers.

On the atlas

Price band (A–H) × context band (1–6)

Same square. Llama 3.1 8B Instruct and gpt-oss-safeguard-20b share B3.

Same square as Llama 3.1 8B Instruct: gpt-oss-20b ($0.02), Mistral Nemo ($0.03), gpt-oss-120b ($0.03). Open B3

AFreeB<$0.10C$0.10–0.30D$0.30–1E$1–3F$3–10G$10–30H$30+1<32K232–128K3128–256K4256K–1M51M6>1MINPUT PRICE PER 1M TOKENS →CONTEXT WINDOW ↑ · position within a square follows the real valueGemma 3 12B · B3Gemma 3 4B · B3Llama 3.2 3B Instruct · B3Gemma 3 27B · B3Qwen3 32B · B3Mistral Small 3.2 24B · B3Llama 3.1 8B InstructLlama 3.1 8B Instructgpt-oss-safeguard-20bgpt-oss-safeguard-20b
Llama 3.1 8B Instructgpt-oss-safeguard-20bNearest neighboursOpen weights
View the map as a table (1 squares)

Capabilities side by side

Only what our records list

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct
gpt-oss-safeguard-20b
Vision input
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Audio input
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Open weights
Not marked open
Not marked open
Batch tier
Not listed
Not listed
Free tier
Not listed
Not listed
Thinking tier
Not listed
Not listed

Neither record lists input types, so we do not claim any.

Which should you choose?

Editorial

Choose Llama 3.1 8B Instruct if…

  • you pay by the token: it costs $0.05 per 1M input against $0.08
  • output dominates your bill: $0.08 per 1M output against $0.30

Choose gpt-oss-safeguard-20b if…

Nothing in the recorded numbers favours gpt-oss-safeguard-20b over Llama 3.1 8B Instruct. Pick it for what our records do not cover — your own tests, or an account you already have with OpenAI.

Each reason is a fact from the tables above. Picking between them is our judgement, and we do not benchmark quality: price and context are what we can measure, so test both on your own prompts before you commit.

Questions

Is Llama 3.1 8B Instruct better than gpt-oss-safeguard-20b?
We do not benchmark quality, so we cannot say. On the recorded numbers: Llama 3.1 8B Instruct is about 1.5× cheaper on input ($0.05 against $0.08 per 1M tokens) and on output. Both have a 131K-token context window. For a support chatbot at 10,000 chats a day, the standard-tier bill is about $29.70 a month for Llama 3.1 8B Instruct and $60.75 for gpt-oss-safeguard-20b. Which is better for you depends on your task; test both on your own prompts.
Which is cheaper, Llama 3.1 8B Instruct or gpt-oss-safeguard-20b?
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct: $0.05 against $0.08 per 1M input tokens, and $0.08 against $0.30 per 1M output, on standard pricing.
How much does each cost per 1M tokens?
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct: $0.05 input and $0.08 output. gpt-oss-safeguard-20b: $0.08 input and $0.30 output. Standard tier, USD.
Which has the larger context window?
Neither: both have 131,072 tokens.
Do both offer batch pricing?
Neither lists a batch tier in our catalogue.
Can both read images or audio?
Input types recorded for Llama 3.1 8B Instruct: none recorded. For gpt-oss-safeguard-20b: none recorded. Where a record lists none we say so rather than guess; check each vendor's documentation before relying on a capability.
Is either model open-weight?
Llama 3.1 8B Instruct: not marked open-weight in our records. gpt-oss-safeguard-20b: not marked open-weight in our records.
What would each cost for a support chatbot?
At 10,000 chats a day, 1,500 input and 300 output tokens each, 30 days, standard tier: about $29.70 a month for Llama 3.1 8B Instruct and $60.75 for gpt-oss-safeguard-20b. This is our calculation from the listed prices, not a quote.

About the two models

Llama 3.1 8B Instruct

By Meta. $0.05 input and $0.08 output per 1M tokens, 131K context, atlas square B3. Tiers listed: standard.

Full specs & pricing →

gpt-oss-safeguard-20b

By OpenAI. $0.08 input and $0.30 output per 1M tokens, 131K context, atlas square B3. Tiers listed: standard.

Full specs & pricing →

Compare Llama 3.1 8B Instruct with…

Compare gpt-oss-safeguard-20b with…

Keep going in your AI

Opens with this page as the source. We add nothing else to the prompt.