Model comparison · Updated 17 Aug 2026

Claude Opus 4.1 vs o1

Claude Opus 4.1 and o1 cost the same on input, $15.00 per 1M tokens. Both have a 200K-token context window. For a support chatbot at 10,000 chats a day, the standard-tier bill is about $13,500 a month for Claude Opus 4.1 and $12,150 for o1.

Ask an AI about this pageGChatGPTCClaudePPerplexityGeGeminiXGrok
More
Cite

Cite this page

ModelsAtlas. “Claude Opus 4.1 vs o1”. Retrieved 17 Aug 2026. https://modelsatlas.com/compare/anthropic/claude-opus-4-1/vs/openai/o1

Model A

Claude Opus 4.1

by Anthropic · weights not marked open · GRIDG3

Input / 1M
$15.00
asserted Vendor states
Source
docs.anthropic.com/en/docs/about-claude/pricing
Retrieved
17 Aug 2026
Output / 1M$75.00
Context200K
vs

Model B

o1

by OpenAI · weights not marked open · GRIDG3

Input / 1M
$15.00
observed We measured
Source
Our catalogue
Retrieved
17 Aug 2026
Output / 1M$60.00
Context200K

Key numbers

Standard tier · highlighted = better

Claude Opus 4.1
o1
Input / 1M tokens
$15.00
$15.00
Output / 1M tokens
$75.00
$60.00
Batch input / output
$7.50 / $37.50
Not listed
Context window
200,000
200,000
Input types
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Weights
Not marked open
Not marked open
Tiers listed
batch, standard
standard
Prices checked
2026-08-17
2026-08-17

What it costs for real workloads

Monthly, standard tier, 30 days

Support chatbot10k chats/day · 1.5k in, 300 out
$13,500/mo
$12,150/mo
RAG over documents2k queries/day · 12k in, 500 out
$13,050/mo
$12,600/mo
Coding agent300 tasks/day · 60k in, 8k out
$13,500/mo
$12,420/mo

Claude Opus 4.1   o1 · Derived from the standard-tier prices above, input and output tokens per request as stated, 30 days. Excludes caching discounts and batch. Try your own numbers.

On the atlas

Price band (A–H) × context band (1–6)

Same square. Claude Opus 4.1 and o1 share G3.

Same square as Claude Opus 4.1: Claude Opus 4 ($15.00). Open G3

AFreeB<$0.10C$0.10–0.30D$0.30–1E$1–3F$3–10G$10–30H$30+1<32K232–128K3128–256K4256K–1M51M6>1MINPUT PRICE PER 1M TOKENS →CONTEXT WINDOW ↑ · position within a square follows the real valueClaude Opus 4 · G3GPT-4 Turbo · G2GPT-5 Image · G4Claude Opus 4.5 · F3Claude Sonnet 4 · F3Claude Opus 4.1Claude Opus 4.1o1o1
Claude Opus 4.1o1Nearest neighboursOpen weights
View the map as a table (4 squares)
SquarePrice bandContext bandModels
GRIDF3$3–10128–256KClaude Opus 4.5, Claude Sonnet 4
GRIDG2$10–3032–128KGPT-4 Turbo
GRIDG3$10–30128–256KClaude Opus 4.1, o1, Claude Opus 4
GRIDG4$10–30256K–1MGPT-5 Image

Capabilities side by side

Only what our records list

Claude Opus 4.1
o1
Vision input
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Audio input
Not disclosed
Not disclosed
Open weights
Not marked open
Not marked open
Batch tier
Supported
Not listed
Free tier
Not listed
Not listed
Thinking tier
Not listed
Not listed

Neither record lists input types, so we do not claim any.

Which should you choose?

Editorial

Choose Claude Opus 4.1 if…

  • work can wait: it lists a batch tier and the other does not

Choose o1 if…

  • output dominates your bill: $60.00 per 1M output against $75.00

Each reason is a fact from the tables above. Picking between them is our judgement, and we do not benchmark quality: price and context are what we can measure, so test both on your own prompts before you commit.

Questions

Is Claude Opus 4.1 better than o1?
We do not benchmark quality, so we cannot say. On the recorded numbers: Claude Opus 4.1 and o1 cost the same on input, $15.00 per 1M tokens. Both have a 200K-token context window. For a support chatbot at 10,000 chats a day, the standard-tier bill is about $13,500 a month for Claude Opus 4.1 and $12,150 for o1. Which is better for you depends on your task; test both on your own prompts.
Which is cheaper, Claude Opus 4.1 or o1?
They cost the same on input, $15.00 per 1M tokens. Output is $75.00 for Claude Opus 4.1 and $60.00 for o1.
How much does each cost per 1M tokens?
Claude Opus 4.1: $15.00 input and $75.00 output. o1: $15.00 input and $60.00 output. Standard tier, USD.
Which has the larger context window?
Neither: both have 200,000 tokens.
Do both offer batch pricing?
Claude Opus 4.1 lists a batch tier, at 50% of its standard price. o1 lists no batch tier.
Can both read images or audio?
Input types recorded for Claude Opus 4.1: none recorded. For o1: none recorded. Where a record lists none we say so rather than guess; check each vendor's documentation before relying on a capability.
Is either model open-weight?
Claude Opus 4.1: not marked open-weight in our records. o1: not marked open-weight in our records.
What would each cost for a support chatbot?
At 10,000 chats a day, 1,500 input and 300 output tokens each, 30 days, standard tier: about $13,500 a month for Claude Opus 4.1 and $12,150 for o1. This is our calculation from the listed prices, not a quote.

About the two models

Claude Opus 4.1

By Anthropic. $15.00 input and $75.00 output per 1M tokens, 200K context, atlas square G3. Tiers listed: batch, standard.

Full specs & pricing →

o1

By OpenAI. $15.00 input and $60.00 output per 1M tokens, 200K context, atlas square G3. Tiers listed: standard.

Full specs & pricing →

Compare Claude Opus 4.1 with…

Compare o1 with…

Keep going in your AI

Opens with this page as the source. We add nothing else to the prompt.